Talking Soccer

These are some parts of the conversations taking place between me and my brother, the die-hard Holland fan, during and after the world cup…

 
After the semi-final:
 
He: What a farce! Italy to the final…
 
Me: Yeah, say whatever you want, they won and they are up to the final!
 
He: Don’t make me start! Who did they beat? Ghana played better than them and were denied 2 penalty shots, they tied with the U.S, and they won over Czech who were palying wothout 2 of their top-drawers!
 
Me: Still, Italy won, and Holland is out of the tournament!
 
He (provoked): They were out after losing for Portugal! who did Italy play with before the won over Germany? Australia? Ukraine? Even their “victory” against Australia was scandlous, a penalty in the last minute! I don’t know what was Totti so happy about! You know I want to watch the final match with that friend of mine, an Italian fan, so I’ll get to give him a kick each time France scores, and each time Italy scores as well!
 
Me: Tell you what?
 
He: What?
 
Me: Da da da!
 
After the final:
 
He: I hate Italy! I hate it to the bone!
 
Me: take it easy! They deserved to win, they were better…
 
He: better? Did you watch the game? Germany in 2002 was more convincing to me than Italy!
 
Me: Nooooo you are exaggerating!
 
He: No I’m not! (Then he gives me a full report of the two teams road, in 2002 for Germany and 2006 for Italy)
 
Me: Well… they still won te world cup!
 
Da da da…

Orignally posted on  Wednesday, July 12, 2006 on http://oeliwat.jeeran.com/archive/2006/7/69876.html

Leave a Reply

