Racist Inner Child

 

So I was walking in the neighborhood today, enjoying the sun and tranquility of the place, when then stranger appeared around the corner and I was a bit intimidated… Now, why should I be intimidated? I see strangers in the hood the whole time, he didn’t look like a bad guy in any way, he wore normal clothes, was carrying what appeared to be his lunch and to top it all, he wasn’t even looking at me, he seemed to be drifted in his own thoughts, minding his own business. Now, I should be ashamed to say that what made me feel uneasy was that he had a dark complexion, a very dark one. He was black. 

 

Since I felt ashamed with myself, I tried to justify this feeling by thinking: Well, maybe it’s because he is a stranger not because he’s black. If I saw an Albino for example, or someone extraordinarily blonde I would wonder…” Then I stopped here, I knew it wouldn’t be the same, I would probably not feel threatened…

 

It’s funny how we defy social stereotypes, cry out against racism, get bugged when someone makes a racist remark; nonetheless, racism still find sits way into our subconscious. You can’t help it, because you can’t detach from the society you live in, from all the media pitched at you… depicting black people as pimps, hitmen, highwaymen, serial killers, drug dealers, you name it.
  
I don’t really know why I’m writing this, maybe out of frustration with myself, maybe I’m looking for the reasons behind my awkward reaction, I don’t know, but I know something is wrong… seriously!

Originally posted on Wednesday, February 21, 2007 on  http://oeliwat.jeeran.com/archive/2007/2/162025.html

Leave a Reply

