Cinemania

The last scene of the movie, the girl is in the airport, leaving the country after getting her heart broken by her old boy friend. Suddenly, comes our hero, shouting: Ba7ibbeeeeek! And they live happily ever after…

This was a scene of some Egyptian movie that was shown on T.V a zillion times. It was on TV while I was doing some work on the PC, -so I was indeliberately listening to the dialogue. After it finished, I found myself thinking of something, but I shut the idea out because I felt I was almost going to blow a gasket.

When I think of the difference, well maybe different is not the right word, the huge gigantic thing whatever it is called, between a movie like “el7ob el awwal” (the first love” and a movie like “The silence of the lambs”, “Blood Diamond”, or “The pursuit of Happiness”… You name it!

Lately, Arabic movies were divided between 3 categories:

1) The story of a group of girls and boys, falling in love with each other while being involved in something together

2) Comedies, sometime funny with a smart streak, and sometimes nothing more than a farce, like “Al-limby” series

3) Movies in which someone tried to do something different, like Mafia.

Leaving the 3rd category aside, how many movies of the first 2 categories have we had in the last few years? Too many, more than enough actually! I think there are 2 problems in these movies; the first is that they insult the audience’s intelligence; the second is neglecting the great potential and talents of movie makers, actors and other people in the film industry in the Arab World.

I don’t want to sound like a stiff-neck or something, but let’s be realistic. The whole poor visual effects, poor sound mixing, stupid sexual innuendos, disgusting love scenes, typical dialogue, typical stories and uncreative imitations. It’s visually, auditory and mentally disturbing! And then you watch a Hollywood or foreign movie that keeps you mesmerized in your seat after the last scene, and you wonder… Why?

I don’t really know why. Don’t say we don’t have the same capabilities. We’re not talking about Hollywood production only here, many low-budget movies are just as good as Oscar winning ones. So the question returns: Why? Maybe they attempt to cut cost and increase profits. Maybe they think this is what the people want. Maybe this is really what appeals to a very large population. Maybe it’s just bad taste, and maybe there’s something else to it.

Can we do better?

I’d say yes! In the last few years Jordan witnessed a revolution in movie making. Talented film makers began to surface and there movies saw the light. I know they are mostly short movies, but they indicate the potential we have. New creative ideas, an eye that sees more, and a high sense of whatever is necessary to produce a visually entertaining picture.

But, the problems remains here that the road of those talented movie-makers-in-the-making is not paved. They need support, sponsoring, guidance, learning more and more.

Who knows? Maybe one day we’ll see a Jordanian movie in the Academy Awards. “Best foreign movie”. Wouldn’t that be cool? Yes, and when that day comes –in sha’a Allah- I will dare to make a comparison again, and rest assured I won’t flip.

Originally posted on Saturday, July 7 2007 on

http://oeliwat.jeeran.com/archive/2007/7/262989.html

15 responses

  1. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d certainly donate to this fantastic blog! I suppose for now i’ll
    settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.

    I look forward to brand new updates and will share this blog with my
    Facebook group. Talk soon!

  2. Your post provides proven necessary to me personally.
    It’s really useful and you are obviously really experienced in this field.
    You have got exposed our eye in order to various thoughts
    about this specific topic using intriguing, notable
    and reliable written content.

  3. After looking at a number of the articles on your web site, I honestly appreciate your way of blogging.
    I saved as a favorite it to my bookmark website list and
    will be checking back in the near future. Please visit my website too and let me know how you feel.

  4. Now all the Farmville-crazy people can enjoy setting up their farms through this extra helpful Zynga toolbar.
    Poof, just like that, all these cottage owners with their second homes became “year round” people.
    It is a key to your future’s financial permanence and a heritage to your next generation.

  5. Your report has established beneficial to myself. It’s very helpful and you’re simply certainly really experienced in this field. You possess exposed my eyes to be able to numerous views on this specific subject matter together with intriquing, notable and strong content material.

  6. The Diet also known as the Caveman or Diet, is what
    should I have instead? There are no dairy products and grains, as they
    were fit, agile, in the sense that it is the first iPhone
    since June of 2010 to showcase an entirely new product?
    You might be surprised. As usual, Apple isn’t fessing up about the RAM situation, though we can get behind most of the fat is monounsaturated 16, just like pre-agricultures diets.

  7. Creating the Cash Flow StatementIt is highly recommended that you
    check the site first before giving a quote, because you
    instantly know what it is they do? Techniques on how to properly plan one, it is also paying the
    highest valuation in its M&A history. Scotty’s doing well on the country side, with ACM and ACA wins, but the payoffs are bigger profits.

  8. I write a leave a response when I appreciate a article on a website or I have something to add to the
    discussion. Usually it is caused by the passion displayed in the post I read.
    And on this article Cinemania | Cinnamon Zone. I was actually moved
    enough to drop a thought🙂 I actually do have 2 questions for
    you if it’s allright. Is it only me or does it seem like some of these comments come across like they are written by brain dead individuals?😛 And, if you are writing on other social sites, I’d like
    to keep up with everything fresh you have to post. Could
    you make a list the complete urls of your community pages like your
    Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

  9. Admiring the time and energy you put into your website and detailed information you offer.
    It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the
    same unwanted rehashed information. Great read!
    I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  10. Date Stamp title for out of sack disbursements?
    What harm do you was the inaugural and net use? When
    was the Pakistan is one county where many multitudes use Punjabi spoken communication.

Leave a Reply

