Memoirs of an Unemployed

So I woke up today sometime around 10:30. I haven’t done this since I quit my job last week. I used to wake up earlier than that but yesterday I stayed up late watching Blood Diamond, at last! It’s been on the shelf for months. And for what it’s worth: WOW!

So, I did what I do every morning when I’m at home and there’s no work (At least no job you have to go to), a beautiful routine if you ask me. Then I dressed up and went to run some errands. I’ve been doing some thinking since I left my last job, which resulted in some decisions, one of which is: I want to try teaching now. I like teaching but I refrained from it as a fresh graduate because you know how teachers’ salaries are. Now that I have established myself financially, el7amdo lellah, I think it’s time I did something I like, even if for less money.

So I headed to a reputable school in my area, fill an application form, and then I headed to the optician to check on my eyesight. I was afraid he’ll be giving me some bad news, since I’ve been spending too much time on the computer lately. But my fears didn’t materialize. On the contrary, I was quite pleased with the result, el7amdo lellah…

On my way there my sister who lives in the UAE sent me a message with some good news that made my day. I’m gonna leave this till the end because there’s much to say about it! Anyways, since I was already in the 7th circle, I said to myself ya benet since we’re at it let’s go to the University Bookshop in Gardens Street and get Memoirs of a Geisha (Hence the title, I’m already getting involved). You know it’s weird how you see a book all the time in almost every bookshop you go to, but when you decide to get it you have to go to look for it as a needle in a heap of straw! Strange…

Anyways, I then went to bring some stuff from C-town before I went home. Did you know that soy milk tastes good? Try it, it’s healthy, providing that you’re not allergic or something.

So, back to the good news. My sister sent me a message telling me she’s pregnant with a baby girl🙂 They named her already. Ghazal (Not Ghazal as in deer, but as in flirt or courtship) Ghazal Ghassan Bustami! Isn’t that such a nice alliteration? It’s babies season here, my cousin is also pregnant with a baby girl, they plan on naming her Ziya (Turkish for light). My uncle’s wife also gave birth to a baby boy last week. I haven’t seen him yet (how odd is that) but from what I heard, he’s such a gorgeous redhead🙂

With all those babies coming to the world or in the process of coming soon in sha’a Allah, I thought of sharing this wonderful peace I read in The Prophet for Gibran Khalil Gibran. Dedicated to all the great moms and dads out there, and their bundles of joy…

…Your children are not your children.

They are the sons and daughters of Life’s longing for itself.

They come through you but not from you,

And though they are with you, yet they belong not to you.

You may give them your love but not your thoughts.

For they have their own thoughts.

You may house their bodies but not their souls,

For their souls dwell in the house of tomorrow, which you cannot visit, not even in your dreams.

You may strive to be like them, but seek not to make them like you.

For life goes not backward nor tarries with yesterday…

Originally posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 on http://oeliwat.jeeran.com/archive/2007/7/260057.html

Leave a Reply

