Pakistan, err, Palestine

 

This is a small excerpt from Mohammad Omar’s article, Coming to America, published in Washington Report magazine, March issue. It’s a very good article by the way…
 
 
…My Officer seemed confused. “What kind of passport is this?” he asked, waving it before me.

“Palestinian,” I answered.

It seemd that Palestinian passport simply did not compute! More gruffly, he asked again, “What passport is it?”

When I repeated my answer, his face lit up and he responded affirmativel, “Oh! A pakistani passport!”

At that point I was ready to be Pakistani if it meant I could complete the exam! I took a deep breath, wondering, “Is this guy for real?” But I quietly told myself, “Patience, Mohammad. Perhaps he’s color blind and cannot read green.”

Originally posted on Saturday, March 03, 2007 on http://oeliwat.jeeran.com/archive/2007/3/168961.html

Leave a Reply

