Take me back…

Take me back to a time long ago, to a time when we didn’t know about a whole world outside those streets…

Take me back where the world was a neighborhood, a supermarket and a relative house…

Take me back to a time where there was no computers, no 24/7 cartoon channels, where all we had to worry about was going home to wash our blackened knees at sunset…

Take me back to hide-and-seek, to a dog we provoked to bark, just to get scolded by its out-of-town owner…

Take me back to a tent, a tree house and a feast of chips, chocolates and cotton candy…

Take me back where you didn’t need a driver license to race the wind, and your dream vehicle was a blue BMX…

Take me back to Eid mornings, when we used to soak each other with water guns, bomb each other with water balloons and then lay on the green grass…

Take me back to hunting insects, grilling tomatoes and cucumbers on a paper-fueled fire, to secret investigations that led to nowhere, to dare and truth, to small gatherings at night to tell spooky stories…

Take me back to a neighbors’ house, the smell of which I vaguely remember now, to a sunny afternoon and a 5-piaster ice cream after school…

Take me back, but don’t leave me there.

Originally posted onThursday, July 05, 2007 on http://oeliwat.jeeran.com/archive/2007/7/261342.html

Leave a Reply

