The Introverts Have it!

Every now and then when I sign out from my hotmail account, my eyes would catch something interesting on the MSN website, be it an article on health, fitness, relationships or business.

The other day there were links for two articles, one about good jobs for extroverts and the other about good jobs for introverts. Being an introvert by nature, I slid the cursor over to check out what’s in store for me.

Over the years, I learned to embrace my introversion. I came to realize that there’s nothing wrong with being an introvert, and that introversion and extroversion aren’t opposites in the sense that one of negative and the other is positive. It’s like a scale from one to ten, and people range on that scale when it comes to their social behavior.

Personally, I would place myself on the 4th degree of that scale, being more of an introvert yet not a total recluse. I discovered how being an introvert could be more fruitful than I thought, and how it uncovers other sides of your personality.

As I checked the aforementioned article, I was pleased to learn what confirmed those convictions, as the article reads, “Although introverts make up only 25 percent of the population, they make up a majority of the gifted population. Many highly successful people are thought to be introverts—even some presidents of the United States,” says Laurence Shatkin, Ph.D., co-author of “200 Best Jobs for Introverts” (JIST © 2008).

Did you know that some modern introvertshappen to be some of the most successful people in the world? Bill Gates, Steven Spielberg, Jackie Kennedy, and Albert Einstein.

I’ve always dreaded dealing with new people, be it inside or outside work. When I got my first job, I was relieved when I got the hang of it and was on my own. That’s why I found it very hard when I tried to shift my career. It was hard because in my first job, I did my work alone before it was sent for quality checking and proofreading, so I felt pretty much independent, while in the second job I had to consult with people all the time, go to meetings and all that sort of stuff. It was a nightmare. I was like, give me the work, tell me what to do and leave me alone to get the job done! That’s why eventually, I went back to translation.

Even though it’s not mentioned in the article, translation is one of the most lucrative jobs for introvert, and the more you master it, the more cash it brings in and the more independent you become in your work. As an experienced subtitler, when I joined my new company I started independently right away. I take the file from the subtitling coordinator, I do it, and then I send it back. Thankfully, my files are not subject for quality checking since now I do quality checking for others myself. Not that I’m smarter than them, but it’s all about experience. As for proofreading, I don’t have to deal with the proofreaders unless they get confused about something in the file.


So, here you go! Your perfect introvert job. This is coming from someone who flips out when someone so much as talks to her while working. I don’t want to sound like a total freak here, I’m just saying there are times when I really don’t feel like talking to anyone, while there are times of course when I find myself taking the headset off and paying a visit to the other office for no reason but to chat and enjoy some company.
Originally Posted on Thursday, March 06, 2008 on http://oeliwat.jeeran.com/archive/2008/3/491293.html

Leave a Reply

