Who Reads your Blog

So the other day as we were gathered at my uncle’s house, my father suddenly said to me: shoo Ola, your name is all over the net! For the first glimpse I was like: Oh no! not the same old story (In brief, someone threatened to sue me) and before I began to worry about it my father continued what he was saying about articles he read for me when he googled the family name, so I understood he was talking about my blog. He seemed very happy as he talked about the articles he’s gone over, and to tell you the truth I was happy too! I always wanted my family to read my blog.

Besides my cousin who once told me she used to check my blog frequently and that she really liked it, I doubt that anyone else in the family peeks in. Frankly, I think this is better since it gives me more space to express myself, knowing I won’t be having real life family members and friends staring at some sides of my personality I usually keep in the shadows. Nevertheless, I like that they do, from time to time. It’s complicated really, you know when you want someone to know something about you without having them know that you know they know? Never mind.  In any case, I’d like to have them reading some of what I write if not all of it.

It’s kind of weird. When I think of who reads my blog, I have to exclude the closest people to me: My parents, my brothers, 95% of my cousins, my best friends and my other friends, with the exception of the cyberily active ones. I know they have their own reasons: Nada is not much of a net person, Nadia is too busy being busy, Worood, oh please, she has 9 pages of emails in her inbox! Mai and Lina probably don’t even know I have a blog… etc.

But you know what? It doesn’t matter, as long as at least one person reads it it’s fine with me. You know what they say, if you reached one person bla bla bla. Besides, I know Tubby checks it regularly! I know he doesn’t read a word though, he just pretends he does while what he really does is looking at the pictures and counting the words. Poor mosquito! He believes he might find some kind of numerical relation between words that refutes Einstein’s theory of relativity. A man can dream! I’ll let you know as soon as he does : )

Originally Posted on Thursday, August 02, 2007 http://oeliwat.jeeran.com/archive/2007/8/281216.html

on

Leave a Reply

