A Very Unromantic Post

What’s up with people and roses? Look, I have nothing against roses as a gift. Well, as a matter of fact, I do. I mean, it’s nice when it’s from someone special on some special occasion, say, AN ANNIVERSARY, along with a real gift of course. I mean come on! I’m not materialistic, I’m telling you I’m not, but when it’s a real occasion I’m sure nobody expects to get a lonely bouquet of flowers, and if any girl said she would be okay with it, I’m telling you she’s probably living in her own freaking world. Darn those stupid romance movies and cheap novels…

Okay, that’s about special occasions and special people. Fine, but what about all the roses at weddings and hospital rooms? Hasn’t it ever occurred to anyone that “What on earth am I supposed to do with all those flowers?”… I get it, they look nice and all, a sight for the sore eye, but really you have to throw them away at some point! I mean, you could’ve brought them something they could actually use and won’t cause such a mess when it starts to dry up. And oh, some might argue that preferring chocolate over flowers is gluttonous, but think about it: if your husband got you a box of chocolate, it may very well mean that he doesn’t think you’r fat or need to lose weight, now that is romantic!

And then you hear about people spending thousands of dollars on flowers in weddings. I’m not going to talk about the hungry masses in Africa, but let’s just reflect on this very valid question:

“Would you prefer a 15,000 JD’s worth of roses for a gift, or a 15,000 diamond ring?”

Well, personally, if someone gave me these choices, I would really love to say this to him: get a life! I mean, it’s out of question that a 15,000 JD’s worth of roses is beyond ridiculous, even if you called it the most romantic thing on earth. It’s not romantic, it’s stupid and indicates serious psychological issues (delusions and stuff)… Yet, at the same time, I wouldn’t be so proud of myself wearing a 15,000 JD’s diamond ring. How is that supposed to make me feel any good? It will only make me feel like a selfish, indifferent show-off. And please don’t tell me it looks good in your hand! A knockoff ring would look just as beautiful in any hand, so why would anyone walk around with 15,000 JD’s in her finger? I’ve lost enough rings to know that this would be one of the most stupid things I would, if I ever could, do in my life. And no, I’m not interested in stashing jewelry away so I can boast them in front of my friends or sell them later on, not exactly that kind of hoarder…

So, if that “imaginary person” insists on buying me a gift that’s worth 15,000 JD’s for whatever reason, I think a car would be nice. That’s something you can use and other people can use too, so that way you can actually feel good about yourself, somehow. Besides, a person who buys you a car is a smart person! Not just a hopeless romantic or a materialistic freak. That’s a person you go for… I mean that’s the way I see it. Anyway, let me know if you find that person. Good luck with that!

Before I wrap this up I’d like to point out a phenomenon that I personally find bugging. Picture this: I’m in the car stopping at the traffic light, alone, and then this street vendor approaches me asking me to buy some roses. I tell him I’m not interested in buying any roses but he insists by saying that roses are nice and so on. Now I don’t know about you but I’m not the kind of person who buys roses for herself. I mean, girls like to receive roses not to buy it themselves! I know some girls would buy it for their mothers and stuff, but how many girls at traffic lights going home from work on any given day would do that? If they want roses, they can call you, no need for the awkwardness that surrounds that! Off topic, why do these boys insist on calling the driver “the parent” of the person riding shotgun?

Anyway, perhaps I should stop since by now I probably blew out my chances of getting any roses from anyone, I guess, unless they were trying to be funny maybe. Well, it’s not that funny, so there you go…

Originally Posted on Friday, December 19, 2008 on http://oeliwat.jeeran.com/archive/2008/12/755045.html

3 responses

  1. After styling as usual, apply the sparkly hair accessory with
    a gentle touch. 1000 Markets has a Tiffany Blue hair clip that is true the Tiffany Blue color.
    The crystal or faux diamond appearance is the most popular, but this look can easily be adapted to fit in
    with even the most unique of wedding themes and or colors.

  2. Your own write-up offers established beneficial to me.
    It’s quite useful and you are obviously extremely experienced in this area.
    You get popped our eyes to varying thoughts about this topic along with intriquing, notable and solid content material.

Leave a Reply

