Between Writer and Character

I have a dream.

Start. Programmes. Microsoft Word. New word document.

Blank.

Thought a hot herbal drink would help. Sipping on the huge silver mug, the page remained blank. Right brain hemisphere in action, nothing. It slowly begins to drift away. It’s around 8:30. What movie should I watch tonight?

“Yeah, yeah yeah.” A voice disrupted the thought. “Keep sipping on that mint-ginger-cinnamon or whatsoever you’re drinking and forget all about me!”

The sound was loud and clear. It was coming from somewhere near. So near that soon I was sure it was coming from inside my head. It’s in my head, established. But, who is it? Oh, no! it’s what’s-his-face again!

“Haven’t I kicked you out today and told you you’re not welcome here? You’ve been messing enough with my head and I won’t allow it any more.”

“Oh, I knew it. You’ve marginalized me so much that you can’t even recognize me!” The voice replied, louder and clearer. “Remember the poor kid who you decided would grow up to be a sociopath?”

It, or she, didn’t need to say more. I knew who it was just then. “Of course I remember you, Maya!” I said with a sheepish smile. “It’s just that it’s been a while and I have a lot on my mind.”

“Of course you do.” She fired back. “Whom I to blame you anyway? After all, you’re the writer, those blank pages are your kingdom. You go ahead and write those paragraphs that don’t even fill half a page, decide I was emotionally abused as a kid, make me grow up to be some freak, keep me stuck there and go ahead with your life! Just leave me there and forget all about me! Be consumed by your silly daydreams and weird guesses and leave me to rot. After all, I’m nothing but a fancy character you created on a whim.”

“I know.” I said, even more sheepishly. “I’m sorry I ditched you like that but you know you’re not the only one.”

“Oh! I suppose you mean the clueless brat and her stuck-up sister. What happened to that story by the way?”

“First, she’s not a brat. And you have no right to speak to me like that.”

“Excuse you! I do. In fact, I have the right to come out and smack you right on the face!”

“Watch your tongue! All it takes is a Back Space and you’ll be a non-existent. Where do you get off talking to me like that? You’re nothing. You’re not even a name on a piece of paper. You’re nothing more that a few digits put together.”

“I beg to differ.” She cried defiantly. “You know as well as I know where I came from. You know I’m in your head because I’m a part of your entity.”

“A part I’m more than willing to delete.”

“You can’t just delete me, you cranky snob! What the heck have you been trying to do for the past, let’s see, month or so? You can’t just get rid of me. You have to finish my story. You have to give me an end”

“Oh, some end that could be!”

“What? Don’t tell me you’ll kill me, just like you did with Dalia. That poor thing!”

“Nah, you’re not death material”

“Death material? What is that supposed to mean?”

“Some characters have to die for the story to be meaningful. I meant for Dalia to die from the first beginning. Death is quite intriguing you know.”

“Oh crap! What are you a death Nazi?”

“I’m not a death Nazi you silly thing.”

“Well then, I’ll tell you something. I’m fed up with you and your mood swings, just give me any end you want, even if I had to be executed in a gas chamber. I’m sick of this.”

“Gas chamber? What are you from World War I? Relax. I told you you’re not death material. But wait and see what miss “Cranky snob” has in store for you.”

“Correction, again! It’s not what’s in store for me, I have nothing to gain from all of this. You don’t want people reading and cussing you out or feeling they could face the same end. You’re not that mean.”

“You think so?”

“I don’t think! You do the math for me. Now, are you going to finish that story or what?”

“Well, I think we’ll have to wait.”

“I’ve been waiting for ages.”

“Sorry, I have to put you on hold for now.”

“You can’t just leave me like this!”

The voice began to fade away little by little. The page wasn’t blank anymore but Maya was still stuck with a sociological complex and a camera. What will happen to Maya? I’m still not sure, but I sure hope it all ends well, better than how it began.

Originally Posted on Wednesday, November 05, 2008 on http://oeliwat.jeeran.com/archive/2008/11/718382.html

One response

Leave a Reply

