The “R” Word

The “R” Word

Wednesday, October 21, 2009

Why do some people keep saying “I know what I did was wrong, but I don’t regret it, I’m consider it an experience”

Well excuse me, experience is the name we give for our mistakes, having learned from your mistake doesn’t mean it’s not a mistake, it’s still a mistake and there’s nothing wrong with regretting it

Sometimes I remember things I did and I regret them to the point of hitting myself on the head. I even feel afraid to remember too many things lest I discover that I did something or blew a chance I had and then I’ll have more to regret. It doesn’t mean I’m torturing myself, no, it’s just that I admit my mistakes so I don’t repeat them, hopefully. Calling a mistake an “experience” and having no regrets at all meaning you could go back and repeat the same mistake, or “live the same experience” if you may, doesn’t it?

Denying regret, I think, means you’re not willing to admit that you made a mistake, or afraid to do so. Regret isn’t something bad, what’s wrong is to do something wrong and to know that it’s wrong and yet refuse to say that you regret it

Just a thought…

One response

Leave a Reply

