My Favorite (possibly obsolete) Video Games

So a new trend appeared on Twitter called “Thursday Theme” or “Theme Thursday” I’m not sure of the name, but the bottom line is that each Thursday twitterers (or should I say twitters or tweeting heads I don’t know), each Thursday they agree on a theme for their profile pictures. Last week it was cartoons from the 80’s, which brought Bck childhood memories, this week it is video games, which also brings back a whole lot of memories. So, in celebration of this theme, I decided to list my favorite video games.

Honestly, I’m kind of old school when it comes to video games, the newest thing I’ve played was on Play Station 2 and after that I got cut off. I don’t even know what’s X-box is and it was just few months ago that I learned what Wee is. Actually I first heard about it in an email about a woman who died while participating in a competition called “Hold your pee for a wee”, but whatever. And for what it’s worth, I’m a firm believer that the old video games where harder to get sick of. So, here’s my short list:

1- Super Mario

Do I even have to say it? Of course it’s Mario, everyone’s favorite since the Stone Age. I’m trying to remember the feeling when we discovered the secret of putting that turtle in a corner and jumping over it to get as many lives (or up’s as we used to call them) as we could. Stepping over those little annoying mushrooms, jumping into green and orange pipes, it was the ultimate gaming experience!

2- Crash Team Racing

Going on break-neck speed while shooting missiles at other cars and planting bombs in their way, need I say more? Of course other Crash games are great too, like Crash Bandicoot and Crash Bash, especially when you’re playing against other 3 people or in teams of 2.

3- Worms World Party

Hilarious, creative and extremely competitive!

4- Driver

Honestly, I can’t say for sure that I used to get to anything playing this game; it’s just that I enjoyed it until the car got wrecked and the game was over. I mean, driving around the city, wrecking cars and being chased by the police, isn’t that a sweet fantasy for any decent citizen?

5- Gran Turismo

Racing, racing, racing! And, speed tests to obtain driver license (A, B AND AB) as well as buying and selling cars to build your own garage. I wasted so much time on that!!

6- Toy Story

My long lost love!! A game with funny, colorful characters and challenging tasks (well at least the first time around) I got really addicted to that game and I’m willing to play it again. It was really fun the first time I played it, wondering where the next level will take place. The scenes from the movie were an extra bonus!

Trivia: the first video game we owned was a Rambo that my father brought us from UAE a million years ago. It had joy sticks and the most basic graphics; nonetheless we never grew bored of it!

So, do you have any favorite video games?

3 responses

  1. I soooooo agree with you specially worms. it’s the funniest thing to do in work hours…playing it on network ser2a !!

    there is a lot of good games now, but everything is more complex now, like who ever thought about a game called flowers Vs. Zombies..!!

    last thing you have to try the world of Goo…you’ll love it !

Leave a Reply

