26

For most of my adult years so far I used to do a lot of rounding when it came to my age. For example, when I was 21 and 7 months I said I was 22 and so on. But that was until I was 25, for from then on the rules changed and I clung to my 25 year old like a kitten to a yarn ball, which will inevitably slip away of course. You know, they say that turning 25 feels weird because you complete one quarter of a century, but believe me, what’s more weird is being 26. At least being 25 could register with me, while it took me sometime to realize that I was 26.

You see, it’s not that I don’t like getting a year older because if you consider the alternatives, well, nobody likes to die young, I suppose! But what I want to say is, celebrating a 26 birthday is quite different than celebrating your, say, 20th birthday. At 20 you’re at college with a bunch of friends sharing more or less the same worries and concerns, you don’t have too many responsibilities, you don’t have to live up to as many expectations, at least your expectations of yourself, that’s generally speaking of course.

But, when you’re 26, it’s a different story. You look around you and you realize that people are drifting away. Even the people you used to spend time with are getting distant because they now worry about different things. The most shocking realization is perhaps that, guess what? You’re not anyone’s priority now. You start to taste the real taste of independence and being on your own. And then you kind of freak out and start thinking: I need to do something with my life! There’s so much I want to do because I don’t want to leave this world without making a difference, no matter how small, and with time is running by this fast and the new study that says brain cells start to degenerate after the age of 27…I’d better get cracking!

I don’t mean to be pessimistic, there’s so much to life and every birthday is like a wake up call to remind you of your calling in life. But I can’t help it! What I used to feel on my previous birthdays is not like what I feel now. Things change, people change, and obviously you need to go with the flow, or just find a decent cemetery where things don’t change.

I’ve put together some plans with which I’ll start after Ramadan in sha’a Allah. Basically to learn and experience more things in life. Life is good. Getting older and hopefully wiser is good, you just need to learn how to make the best of it!

5 responses

  1. Ya Ola, habby bearsday. It is hard growing up, finding the way through your 20s. The 30s are easier, but life really begins at 40. Take charge, fidn your destiny, make wise decisions, love God and your neighbor.🙂

  2. Age is nothing but a…. STIGMA!😀

    Happy b-day Ola, wait till u reach the “three” “zero”, or btr yet ,, the “four” “zero”🙂

    Numbers r really strange! In their associations with our lives and what have u.

    H.

Leave a Reply

