I’m Not Responsible

 

  

 

I’m not a theatre critic, but I can speak for myself and say that I was impressed by the fact that Ghassan Al-Mashini’s “I’m not Responsible” was a one-man-show, and with good substance too. Yet, I was disappointed because I felt it was too short and incomplete, and I’m pretty sure everyone else in the theatre was too since we were expecting to see more. The end of the play seemed like a sudden halt.

 

The play consisted of a series of monologue in which the sole actor, Mashini, takes on 5 different characters: A member in the Parliament, an ordinary Arab citizen, Qadhafi, Yasser Arafat and Hitler.

 

The other thing I found surprisingly impressive was his impersonation of Arafat. Actually, when he first appeared dressed up like Arafat I thought it would be another lame attempt at ridicule, but as he went on it turned out that he wasn’t trying to be funny, he was actually trying to get a message across, and a very good message.

 

After the show Ghassan Mashini came out to the stage and urged people to encourage the theatrical movement in Jordan, for theatre is an outlet for people to vent out and to have their say, as well as being the father of all arts.

 

Here are some of the pictures I managed to capture…

  

 



3 responses

Leave a Reply

