On Teaching

 

When I was a child and they asked me what I wanted to be I often said that I wanted to be a teacher. I don’t know if that was a real early calling or just a childish cliché – You know how it is, it’s either a teacher or a doctor.

 

Yet, growing up my desire to teach grew up with me and I found myself making carton boards when I’m studying and pretending that I’m actually teaching imaginary students. Later on I started giving private lessons but that wouldn’t cut for me. I needed the class and the students and the black board and the chalks… the whole package.

 

Graduating from university, reality hit hard. I found myself getting into translation, telling myself it would only be temporarily but it turned out that when making career choices it’s hardly ever temporary. Change isn’t easy once you get the hang of something, or is it? And of course the money was another issue; there was no room for comparison…

 

But I still didn’t give up on teaching. I thought that maybe I can peruse my higher studies so that I can teach at university or something, but it seemed a bit far-fetched. Yet, good things could happen when you least expect them, no?

 

Out of the blue, I was contacted by the German Jordanian University to give classes in Audio-visual translation, AKA subtitling, which is my field of work, and what do you know? I grasped the opportunity tooth and nail, without so much as a blink. I mean, I’ve always wanted to teach but not even in my wildest dreams have I thought that I could be teaching 4th year university students this soon.

 

It was a great opportunity that I can’t describe how grateful I am for. After all, God gives us more than we ask for, no doubt about that. The people there were great, very cooperative, and very open-minded. I got to lay down the study plan as I saw fit and was at a complete liberty to execute it. The students were great too, each of them having a special quality of their own.

 

Truth be told, at some point I thought I wasn’t cut out to be a teacher, for I cannot be strict or, for that matter, mean. But it turned out you don’t have to. It was one of my best moments when the students told me they loved the class and found it very interesting, and when the head of the department asked me if I was thinking of making a career out of it and that I was welcome to join their staff if I ever thought of pursuing this any further.

 

So, if I’m to sum it up in one sentence it would be: I’m grateful for having the chance to teach something to those students, and to learn a whole lot from them and from the experience as a whole.

8 responses

  1. Great wallah !!

    I didn’t know u like teaching and I didn’t know that you gave private lessons🙂

    I’m a good teacher btw, my mom was a teacher..and worked in private institutes in Irbid during my internship time to make some money hehe…I give professional training courses now for some customers at work…it’s fun.

    As Albert Eisntein said: “You do not really understand something unless you can explain it to your grandmother.”

    Eisntein also said “If you can’t explain something simply, you don’t know enough about it.”

  2. Good 4 u Ola.
    What u described fits my profile a lot🙂 , I am in a teaching position too, and it feels v good indeed.

    All the very best, I`d just say that yr students r lucky to have u! Really.

    H.

  3. so happy for you Ola, that’s such a great experience, are you teaching next semester as well?
    I used to say i wanted to be a teacher as well, but ended up studying engineering:) that’s why i joined injaz to try teaching and I’m really enjoying it🙂

  4. wow!
    this is the first time i know you’re a translator; i’m so excited
    you know; i’m studying translation and i’ll graduate next summer
    i wish i was one of your students!
    i could use some advice in translation, if you don’t mind Ola

Leave a Reply

