Facebook Mom

My mom has never been a traditional mom, meaning that she’s never bugged me about marriage or suitors or what not, which is pretty cool given what I hear about mothers giving their daughters a hard time about this particular issue. But make no mistake: a mother will always be a mother.

 

In addition to being untraditional in her parenting style my mother is quite an insightful, understanding and creative woman. You see, she was married when she was around 18 years old right after she finished high school, but I personally believe that had she pursued a higher level of education she could’ve been a financial analyst or an excellent interior designer. In fact there was a time when she was considering pursuing her higher education and started asking around about colleges but then she found out that she was pregnant with my brother and dropped the idea.

 

Be that as it may, my mother is a woman with so much to share and a lot to say, so when she recently discovered the power of Facebook as a sharing tool, she immediately jumped on the wagon. She’s become perhaps the most active one in the family on Facebook, posting things that she finds interesting or insightful, or commenting on other people’s different activities. Yet, she didn’t comment much on my own activities on Facebook or said anything about the people on my friend list, but make no mistake again: a mother will always keep an eye on her daughter and the people she interacts with.

 

Having said all that, I was a little surprised when my sister told me that my mom calls her from time to time to either complain about me refusing to consider traditional proposals or something like that, which is something any mother would do, but what was more surprising to me is when my sister told me that mom once called her to inquire about “someone on Facebook who keeps posting comments on my profile and I keep removing them”. Of course my initial reaction was: who on earth would that be? I mean, I do delete some comments from time to time for different reasons but there is definitely no one who keeps posting and whose comments I keep deleting. No one. So I just told my sister to tell her that none of my Facebook friends is a “subject of interest for me”, but I don’t know if that will be good or bad news for my mother.

 

So, it’s interesting when your virtual life intertwines with real life, but really sometimes you need to take certain precautions to avoid possible misunderstandings.  But to think of it I find that it could be helpful, for now I’ve discovered another side of my mother, and it makes me feel guilty because now I can’t deny the fact that she worries about the issues she rarely brings up, just like any other mother.

 

It’s a double-edged sword, really…

 

8 responses

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Facebook Mom « Cinnamon Zone -- Topsy.com

  2. LOL LOL LOL… I laughed my head out .. mesh tabee3eyyeh 5alto… o ya bayee magwaha .. Your mom is so so cute.. I love her activities on facebook.. Bas its so funny how she is watching you.. heeheee

    I respect her thought about traditional proposing.. I think you should just accept the idea.. and try it.

    BTW I never knew that she ever thought about going back to school ?? Any way, she has a mind of a highly educated person.. mashalla.. you would think that she got her MA degree..
    ❤ her and❤ the advice she gave me😉

  3. hehehe Ola, that is so funny, really i enjoyed this article too much.

    my mom also seems not to be caring abt my marriage issue, but thanks to Dad he is over reacting abt it and aunts too😀

    jad i enjoyed reading this, and abt traditional proposals, we must had a specific meeting for this🙂

  4. * Corrected my name *

    hehehe Ola, that is so funny, really i enjoyed this article too much.

    my mom also seems not to be caring abt my marriage issue, but thanks to Dad he is over reacting abt it and aunts too

    jad i enjoyed reading this, and abt traditional proposals, we must had a specific meeting for this

  5. lovely post my friend!
    Mum joined Facebook a while ago, but not spending a lot of time on it. however, I know what you’re talking about; I rememberer when i was still a teenager and discovered mum’s interest in poetry, and how it surprised me a lot to learned she is the biggest fan of Nizar Qababni for example!

  6. Pingback: Web Design CA

Leave a Reply

