Shammalat

When I signed up the solidarity visit to Bergish forests, I couldn’t see how this visit could help the cause of Bergish. But now after I fill in love with it and with its people, I can safely say I know.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It was a very well-organized visit actually, kudos to all the people who saved no effort to make it happen. There were several activites bith for adults and children and we went to Bergish cave, which was magical indeed! the hike to the cave in itself was a mini adventure, waking downhill on such a bumpy terrain with trees all around you and majestic view of Ajloun forests in the distance. If you ask me I would do it again anyday! When we reached the cave, I have to admit,  I was a bit hesitant to go in. You know, they said it’s so dark and big inside but then I blocked any claustrophobic ideas and thought: “I’m coming to Bergish, I might as well explore the cave!” and  it was a decision not to be regretted. We had flash lights and everyone was walking together along with the guide who was very informative and looked very passionate. In fact he encouraged us to go in in the first place, telling us how the cave opens p the deeper you go and how cool and moist it is inside. In fact it was a chance to cool off in such hot weather.

It was great to meet the local people there and hear what they have to say. They were standing around selling some of their products and talking to people about how they felt about cutting down the trees in Bergish to build a military academy, some of them were even holding or wearing picket signs. One woman told us that those who are willing to sell their lands are those who do not live in Bergish but rather live away in the city. She said they, the residents of Bergish, would never sell their land because their land is their honor. She also said she wished the king would tell her what he told the women in South Jordan: this is your land, no one will take you out of it.

It was a day to remember and I now believe in the cause of Bergish more than ever. It’s heartbreaking to see all these trees being removed. As I once said, in a country where trees cover less than 1% of the overall area, 300 trees are too many to cut down. One tree is too many to cut down. Let’s hope the authorities will hear the appeals of the people in Bergish and find another place to build the academy.

That was the serious important part. Now to some trivia:

– I stepped in poop on the way to the cave

– I asked a man about his horse’s name and he answered me: what would her name be? it’s just a horse. That was like telling a child Santa Clause isn’t real

– I realized today it’s been years since I’ve done internal tourism. Actually this was the first time I’ve been to the North in 5  years! Must catch up on that

2 responses

  1. Seven years since your last visit to the north? You really have to visit Irbid in the spring. It is so beautiful. Not the city of course but the surrounding villages.
    I still don’t know why they chose that place in particular? Why in the world they want to cut trees?
    Thanks for the beautiful pictures and post.

Leave a Reply

