My Sweet Sixteen Plus Fifteen

Birthdays: Annual occasions where you celebrate not being hit by a car or shot at a wedding by some idiot for yet another year. Congratulations, you might not be the fittest but you survived anyway.

However, after a certain age birthdays cease to be mere merry occasions, they turn into panic attacks: What have I achieved in my 30 years on earth? When am I going to save some money? I’m never going to find love! My husband forgot my birthday, 3 years of marriage down the drain. Children! I need to have children before it’s too late. Who took my charger? I made it clear I don’t want anyone taking my charger. No, I’m not overreacting, YOU are overreacting! Hand me that popcorn. What? I’m not crying, I’m just overflowing with fulfillment. Sniff. TICK-TOCK, TICK-TOCK…

But it doesn’t have to be that dramatic, and don’t pretend it’s not. There’s always some after-party drama when everyone goes home and you’re alone with your gifts and leftover cake. And you’d be totally justified in taking that plunge into the self-pity, life-loathing pool; it’s completely understandable and okay, as long as you’re avoiding people and sharp objects.

But again, it doesn’t have to be that bad, not because “age is just a number”, make no mistake, age is a number and one that makes a difference, so let’s do away with that denial-drenched mentality and say it like it is. If you’re 30, that means you’re no longer 20, and everything is not the same. However, it doesn’t have to be all that different. It’s not like when you turn 30 you’ll gain weight uncontrollably or start shedding skin. Yes, your complexion might not look as fresh as a 21 year-old – unless you’re spending a small fortune on skin care products or have a very good surgeon- but you will still look beautiful, and you will still be able to do everything you used to do in your twenties. Honestly, I couldn’t think of anything you could do in your twenties that you couldn’t do in your thirties, not even running like a lunatic down the street or crying while watching Twilight. If you can do that in your twenties then chances are you can do it at any age, because you’re probably crazy, or a moron, and you will always have a streak of that and will, hopefully, grow up to be that crazy grandma with a purple hat/scarf who everyone loves.
My point is, don’t deny age, make peace with it.

I for one have made my peace with it, mostly because my choices are limited, you know, it’s grow older or die. And it really doesn’t matter as much after you hit 30. It becomes a chance to reevaluate yourself and the important things in your life, what’s been achieved so far, what needs to be done, what’s missing. A day to be thankful for the people you have around you on this very day – not only because of the cake and gifts- but most importantly for taking the time and the effort to be there and to make you feel extra special on this one day of the year, without getting a hint from Facebook.

It’s also a time for disappointments, which are an inevitable part of the circle of life, but it’s also a time to deal with them, reconsider things, put your life in order, reset and start a new, or simply resume, whatever floats your boat.
The amount of love I felt today almost equals the amount of sugar I consumed.

Happy sweet 16 plus 15 to me, it was definitely a good one

01/9/2015

7 responses

  1. Happy Birthday to you! I wish I could borrow your mentality on my birthday and deal with the disappointment with grace. But we can always try!

  2. I always think about growing “old”, reading “Tuesdays with Morrie” by Mitch Albom, helped me a bit, to be honest, as Morrie discussed this matter with Mitch, I learnt I should not waste my day, thus my life, on overthinking, behind a screen feeling pity that I did not remarkable throughout my life and to actually stand up and DO SOMETHING! I honestly liked your blog post. This birthday/age topic is sensitive to me.
    Happy Birthday!

  3. Does it feel better breaking it into 16 + 15 ?
    Achieving self satisfaction by achieving, a paradox am trying to dissolve by -sadly- doing what people is telling me: compare what you’ve achieved to someone in your age in your society, is really that satisfying?

    There is no standard to that, which makes it more difficult for people who are brainstorming 24/7 as to how to achieve.. At least achieve a better them.

    Happy 5.56²🙂 or happy √961 :p

    • I breaj it into simple numbers I can understand :p

      You don’t have to compare yourself to anyone, I think the only person you should compare yourself to is your old self. After all growing up is about looking back and seeing that you’re a better person now than before

Leave a Reply

