2015 Book Reviews

When it came to books, for me, this year was the year of catching up. Namely, it was the time to read books I should have read years ago, like Agatha Christie’s novellas for example – Yes, I didn’t read those when I was a teenager! My teenage years were spent reading Arab comic magazines and other miscellaneous stuff. What can you do?

However, I was thankful that I haven’t read those books earlier because they provided some good entertainment when I needed it. But it wasn’t always about entertainment. This year also was the first time I read for Kafka and John Steinbeck – See? Lots of catching up to do.

Overall, I read 27 books this year: 12 in Arabic and 15 in English. Here’s a brief review of each in the language I read it in, and in 2 cases an excerpt of a longer review I’ve written of the book.

 

Murder on the Orient Express – Agatha Christie: First book I read by Agatha Christie, and I must say it was a very good choice as I myself was snowed in. Once I got past the first 2 chapters it became increasingly hard to put it down. I admit I was a bit skeptical thinking it would be a piece of cake, but I couldn’t be more wrong. I thought I had it figured out but I found out I had no clue until it all started coming together. Very smart and well-written, even the racist remarks made sense by the end. Very entertaining, a good book to pick at your mind

شرفة الهذيان – إبراهيم نصر الله: هذيان صريح بين النثر والشعر، الواقع والخيال. لأول مرة.أشعر بأن ابراهيم نصر الله جمع في كتاب واحد بين شخصيته كروائي وشاعر ورسام ومصور فوتوغرافي. ليس النوع المفضل لدي من الروايات، وهو ما جعلني أهاب الروايات العربية لفترة ما كوني أفضل الروايات واضحة المعالم حيث بداية ونهاية وأحداث، لكنني وجدت متعة غريبة في هذه الرواية بالذات، كما أن موضوعها المتمحور حول الحرية جعلني أستوعب سبب وجود هذا النوع من الأدب: فكلما قلت حرية التعبير زادت الحاجة إلى الرمز. العصافير والأقفاص والصقور والزوجة والأبناء الأحياء الأموات، كلها رموز تدعو للتفكير وتستحضر في الذهن مفاهيم الحرية والإمبريالية والاستعمار الثقافي وغيرها من الأمور التي يرمي إليها نصر الله من شرفته الأولى

The Secret Adversary – Agatha Christie: For the first few chapters the book seemed amateurish to me. I thought there were too many coincidences and I didn’t find the main characters compelling at all. But – of course there is a “but”- as I made progress with the book things started to come into focus and again, I thought it was predictable and that I’ve figured it out, but the joke was on me. But even when I thought I had it all figured out I still wanted to press on because there were things I still wanted to know, there were missing pieces all over the place. I must say Agatha Christie is a master of deception, she pulls your leg, making you think you’re so smart, even throwing you little clues on purpose, making you think you’re so smart again, but she’s actually just luring you farther away from the truth and making you more persistent in your chase of the red herring, only to meet you just before the finish line with a big banner that says:”Sorry, decoy!”, making you realize that you’ve been outsmarted yet again.

قنديل أم هاشم – يحيى حقي: مجموعة قصصية  تعرض مشاهد مألوفة من المجتمع المصري من زوايا قد لا تكون مألوفة دائماً أو على الأقل لم تكن  مألوفة في زمن كتابة القصص حسب تصوري. أحببت التفاصيل وطريقة الوصف واللغة المستخدمة، التشبيهات مبدعة وقريبة للنفس، ولو أنني شعرت بأن القصص في حاجة إلى مزيد من التفاصيل والأحداث لكن ذلك قد يخرجها عن نطاق القصة إلى الرواية، ففي القصة الأولى وهي أشهرها “قنديل أم هاشم” تشعر بأنها قصة جديرة بأن تكون رواية فعلاً وتتوق لمعرفة المزيد، والفكرة التي تطرحها مهمة جداً وهي نهج تغيير المجتمعات إذ لا يمكن تغيير المجتمع بالصدام معه واتهام أفراده بالجهل والتخلف. ربما القصة التي وجدت مزاجها مختلفاً عن بقية القصص هي “القديس لا يحار” وإن كان واضحاً أن الكاتب يريد إيصال فكرة تصب في صميم الأعراف الاجتماعية والدينية من خلال شخصيات يبدو أنها تنتمي لزمان ومكان آخرين. آخر جزء من الكتاب كان مختلفاً أيضاًحيث كان مجموعة  خواطر من رجل إلى امرأة بعنوان “بيني وبينك”، أعجبتني كثير من العبارات والفقرات فيها وإن شعرت ببعض الملل أثناء قراءتها، ربما لانها تحتاج إلى مزاج من نوع خاص وتختلف أجواؤها عن أجواء القصص الأخرى

The Metamorphosis, Franz Kafka: I was aware before I started reading that this is a work of literature that has been interpreted, analyzed and dissected over and over again, but I was yet to see for myself what the fuss was all about. In the beginning it seemed like a bad dream, too absurd not only in the sense that the protagonist Gregor Samsa woke up one day to find that he was transformed into a vermin, but because of his reaction to it. One would imagine that if you were to wake up one morning to find yourself transformed into an insect you would be washed over with panic, wondering what on earth has happened, not worrying about being late to work. You would be busy thinking how you could possibly get back into your human form, not how to arrange your life as to fit the new situation. (Full review here)

 

أكثر 38 خطأ شائعاً في الكتابة القصصية – جاك بيكهام: يقدم جاك بيكهام في هذا الكتاب نصائح للكتّاب الجدد حول كيفية بناء وتسويق عملهم القصصي، وإن كنت ممارساً للكتابة فعلى الأرجح أنك  خلال قراءتك ستتذكر كتاباتك الخاصة وتستطيع تحديد الأخطاء التي وقعت فيها وتفاديها في ما تعمل عليه حالياً. الجميل في هذا الكتاب أنه رغم إقراره بأن الكتابة عمل شاق ومتعب إلا أن هناك أساسيات تجعله يبدو أكثر سهولة وفي متناول اليد فيخرجك من الإحباط والتفكير السلبي الذي قد يقع فيه الكانب  أحياناً تجاه نفسه أو تجاه نصه. إن كنت مهتماً بالكتابة أو إن كنت تعمل أو تخطط للعمل على مشروع قصصي أو روائي فأنصح بشدة بقراءة هذا الكتب قبل الشروع في العمل أو أثناءه.

الكتاب مكتوب باللغة الإنجليزية أصلاً لكنني قرأت النسخة المترجمة إلى العربية رغم عدم تفضيلي للأعمال المترجمة، وقد التقطت بعض الأخطاء (أو التي اعتبرتها شخصياً أخطاء) في الترجمة،  وأعتقد أنها تسيء نقل النص الأصلي لكونها مرادفات حرفية أو غير دقيقة، لكن بشكل عام كانت الترجمة جيدة وتوصل المطلوب من الكتاب.

The Mysterious Affair At Styles – Agatha Christie:  I mainly ready this book because it was Hercule Poirot’s first novel, and it takes place at the same place as the last one which I am more excited to read. A good one, perhaps not Aghatha’s best but certainly clever and interesting. Again I couldn’t guess who the killer was, I suspected everyone and at some point no one and it wasn’t until the truth was revealed that I realized who it was. I felt it dragged at some places and got me confused sometimes as it moved between different places with the many different characters and the abundant amount of details which all proved to be necessary for solving the mystery in the end. The ending was of course the best part as a series of revelations compensated for all the vagueness and confusion, everything just fell into place and one “Aha!” moment followed the other.

أبو الفول وقصص شعبية أخرى: قد لا أكون حيادية تماماً في رأيي حول هذا  الكتاب كوني شاركت في المراحل الأولى من صناعته وتربطني علاقة خاصة به وبالشركة المنتجة له، لكنني سأحاول قدر الإمكان. الكتاب يضم مجموعة من القصص الشعبية المتوارثة عبر التراث المحكي  في منطقة بلاد الشام (إضافة إلى قصتين من السودان وقصة من التراث الشركسي). أسلوب التوثيق ممتع وجميل حيث تمت إعادة القصة بلغة عربية فصيحة مع الإبقاء على الحوار باللهجة المحكية التي هي جزء لا يتجزأ من التراث. لعل أكثر نقطة لفتت انتباهي في القصص هي كمية الأفكار المشوهة في تراثنا، ولعل هذا السبب الذي يجعل قراءة هذه القصص مهمة لمواجهة إرثنا الفكري ومعرفة أصل بعض الأفكار التي لا تزال موجودة بيننا حتى الآن كالعنصرية على أساس اللون والتي تكررت في أكثر من قصة. كمية العنف والدموية في القصص أيضاً ستجعلك تتردد حتماً في السماح لأطفالك بقراءة الكتاب. لكن قراءة هذه القصص كشخص راشد واعٍ أمر مختلف وقد تكون عاملاً مساعداً في فهم تراثنا القديم ومحاولة ترك تراث أفضل منه للأجيال القادمة. كتاب ممتع وقد يعيد إليك بعض الذكريات الواضحة أو المبهمة في بعض الأحيان

تقارير السيدة راء – رضوى عاشور: مقاطع من سيرة ذاتية في شكل قصص قصيرة في شكل تقارير. رحلة مع ضوى وداخل عقل رضوى أو السيدة راء مع لمسة سيريالية في بعض الأجزاء. كتاب جميل وحزين في الوقت نفسه

Dark Places, Gillian Flynn: The book started heavey. Actually I don’t think I would have gone through with it if I hadn’t been reading it for a book club. The first 100 pages, I found, were slow and boring, but then it started to pick up after page 120 or so and then by the time I was halfway through it I couldn’t stop until the mystery unfolded. Dark and disturbing, I think these are the words that best describe this book. Not my type honestly, and I don’t feel like I came out with much from it, but I can’t say I did not enjoy it. The author jokes in the acknowledgments section about how her husband knows how she thinks and still sleeps next to her with the lights off. Well, I can’t help but wonder the same thing!

 

Who Moved My Cheese? – Spencer JohnsonKenneth H. Blanchard: I’ve heard about this book for many years, and now that I’ve read it I could see what all the fuss is about. It’s a very simple book yet it’s very relevant to everyone. Honestly I thought I couldn’t get much from this book, like I’ll be reading something I already know but it turns out that it did highlight some things I didn’t really pay attention to in terms of our attitude to dealing with change. I’ve always been change-resistant although I’ve been making progress in that regard, yet there were too ideas that I really needed at this point in my life going through a radical change of my own: 1- things are not as scary as you think they are 2- Don’t just move on from the old cheese, visualize your new cheese and work towards it. And “cheese” could be anything to anyone. A short good read summing up the obvious yet resisted facts of life: Change happens, anticipate it and adapt to it.

فرج – رضوى عاشور: طاقة فرج في نافذة سجن. لا أعرف كيف أصف هذا الكتاب بغير ذلك. من سجن الجدران إلى السجن العام الأكبر، تعرض الكاتبة عذابات الإنسان اليومية في سجون الأنظمة العربية التي يجرد فيها المرء من إنسانيته، ومن خلال حياة ندى عبد القادر نرى أثر حالة السجن العامة هذه وتداعياتها في تفاصيل الحياة الشخصية للفرد والمجتمع. عمل يقدم الهم الإنساني بتفاصيله الدقيقة، يتلازم فيه الحزن والأمل كتوأمين من البداية حتى النهاية

And Then There Were None – Agatha Christie: Smart and scary. Yet again I could not guess the killer despite having several theories. However, I still had a feeling that there was something missing in the ending, I felt that the author withheld too much information and details from the reader in order not to give away the killer. This is Agatha Christie’s all-time best selling novel, but I still enjoyed Murder on the Orient Express more, perhaps it’s because for me when I’m reading detective novels I like to focus more on the investigation than on the crime itself. In “And then there were none” there was more suspense and anticipation that investigation and clues being figured out, unlike Poirot’s series which is my personal preference.

Blink: The Power of Thinking Without Thinking – Malcolm Gladwell: What if I told you that you could make some serious life decisions based on a few initial impressions or a 3-minute conversation? What if I claimed that some endeavors of yours have a better chance of success if you listened to the voice within you, instead of following a consciously constructed thought process? Well, you’d probably think I’m one of those mindfulness gurus trying to promote a new book titled “How to Clear Your Mind and Stop Thinking Once and For All”, with a free 3-week detox diet program on the side, and then you’d very politely -or less than politely- ask me to get a grip and go find a real job. (See full review)

مديح الكراهية – خالد خليفة: يتتبع خالد خليفة في هذه الرواية الكراهية إلى متابعها الأساسية، كراهية الذات وإنكار حاجاتها أو الحرمان القسري منها والخوف من رغباتها التي تُدفن عميقاً فتترك لتغلي على مهل حتى تتفجر في بركان من العنف والكراهية للآخر، فتكون الكراهية بذلك آلية دفاع ذهنية تلقائية، وليس ما يتلوها من تزمت وطائفية وإقصاء للآخر سوى محاولات لتبرير وتعزيز هذه الكراهية وما تبعثه من شعور بالامان والفوقية. رواية من العيار الثقيل وضعتني في دوامة من المشاعر التي اختلطت في نهايتها حتى لم أعد أجد كلمة واحدة تصفها، كبطلتها التي بلا اسم. أزعجني أسلوب السرد والإسهاب الكبير في التفاصيل والتشعب في القصص مما أشعرني بالتشتت، لكن أعتقد أن كل ذلك كان من ضرورات هذه الرواية التي تندفع نحوك بلا مجال للاستراحة أو التقاط أنفاسك في حوار بين الشخصيات، بشكل يحاكي تداعي الأحداث  التي تدور حولها الرواية والتي جعلت عالم تلك العائلة الحلبية يتداعى من حولها ، فكان لا بد لك كقارئ من معرفة أدق تفاصيل حياتهم حتى دواخل أنفسهم لتشعر بحتمية ذلك التغيير وشدته. رواية متعبة، صادمة، مربكة، لا تقرأها إن كنت تريد قراءة شيء  للاسترخاء وتصفية الذهن


The Murder of Roger Ackroyd – Aghatha Christie: As I started reading I thought this was one of the best-written novels by Agatha Christie, which is why I was puzzled as to why I couldn’t be sucked into the book as I went along, and I began to wonder why is it considered one of her best. I thought perhaps it was that it took her a while to engage Poirot into the story, or because the narrator sounded too flat for me, not an interesting enough character. As it turned out in the last 2 chapters, this was where the genius of Christie comes in (Spoiler alert). The same character I thought was ruining the book for me, the one I had out of the circle of suspicion all the time, was the one plotting the whole scheme from the beginning. Only then I could see the point behind all the red herrings and the dull narrator. It was the murderer giving an account of the proceedings of the case all along. I’m yet to guess the murderer in an Agatha Christie novel. The challenge is till on.

سراج – رضوى عاشور: ** spoiler alert ** حكاية عربية في مدينة متخيلة تتخللها أحداث حقيقية أو محاكاة لأوضاع حقيقية، كأنها تقول لك إن الظلم واحد وإن اختلفت الأماكن والأسماء. شخصيات قريبة من القلب، تحبها وتتعلق بها مما يجعل نهاية القصة أصعب عليك، وأنت تعرف أن قصة كهذه لا يمكن أن تنتهي نهاية سعيدة لأنها مرآة لواقع مر، فتدرك أن النهايات السعيدة أشبه بخيانة ما دامت لم تتبلور على أرض الواقع

العصفورية – غازي القصيبي: حوار طويل بين طبيب نفسي ومريض ينفي عن نفسه تهمة الجنون. رحلة في التاريخ والسياسة والأدب، وتصور مضحك مبكي لأمة عربية مفككة ومتشرذمة. كتاب ممتع ومليء بما يدعو إلى التفكير والمعلومات المهمة وتلك التي لا تضر ولا تنفع. أدب ساخر حقيقي

Of Mice and Men – John Stienbeck: It’s amazing how so many ideas and motifs can be packed in a 60-page novella. The style it was written in makes it feel like watching a play, which gives it the air of both a farce and a tragedy at the same time. The friendship that doesn’t last, the strength that can’t be controlled, the dreams that are shattered, the power that comes out of weakness so the abused becomes the abuser. The unflattering portrayal of women. And so, the story that opens with a perfect idyllic scene ends up being a dark picture of the entire human existence: We are all lonely, yearning for companionship in our isolation yet unable to keep it up, because in the end we are willing to do what it takes to survive, even if it means crushing those closest to us and giving up on our bigger dreams. It’s a jungle just like that little hidden brush described at the beginning and the end of the book where animals live together yet feast on each other without remorse.

Perhaps this is not how one should look at the world, and perhaps this is not how it always is, but to think that this is how it looks from a certain angle is a chilling idea.

Of mice and men pays homage to those with big, or even simple, dreams. Those who have nothing but their work to show for themselves under the merciless hand of money, power and the tug of war between the desire to pursue their dreams and the urge for survival.

 

Open Veins of Latin America: Five Centuries of the Pillage of a Continent – Eduardo Galeano: This book had me spell-bound from the first line. I felt like I wanted to quote and share every thought in it. Powerful and challenging, galeano pulls no punches in this epic historical account that spans 500 yrs of the pillaging of Latin America. And if you think you don’t need to read this book if you’re not Latin American, think again; many valuable lessons to be learned. Definitly not for the faint-hearted. High pain threshold required.

 

Peril At End House – Agatha Christie: This was a complicated little mystery, too many red herrings to take your eye off the real perpetrator. However, it was the closest I’ve gotten to recognizing the murderer in an Agatha Christie novel, that’s progress.

 

سعادة السفير – غازي القصيبي: رواية ممتعة، خفيفة، يصحبك فيها القصيبي برحلة في دهاليز السياسة برموز لا تستعصي على الفهم، ليربط الرواية بالواقع ويحتفظ بحرية الخيال الأدبي  فلا يكون مضطرا للالتزام بالحقائق أو الدفاع عن نفسه في حال اتهامه بتشويهها. ولا شك في أن الخيال يلعب دوراً كبيراً إذ تختزل أسباب الحرب في صراع على امرأة بين سفير ورئيس دولة، لكن في الكتاب قدراً من الحقيقة أيضا. لا أعرف إن كانت الرواية قد كتبت قبل أم بعد غزو العراق لكن قراءتها الآن والعراق على حاله الذي انتهى إليه بعد الاجتياح الأمريكي تضع الرواية في ضوء آخر وتجعلها مزعجة بعض الشيء، ولو أنني أتمنى لو أن نهاية الرواية كانت هي ما حدث على أرض الواقع، إلا أن النهاية لم تعجبني، شعرت بأنها مبتورة وسريعة، وفيها شيء من النهايات السعيدة الساذجة التي لا أفضلها في الأدب، لكنني بالتأكيد أود رؤيتها على أرض الواقع

Mornings in Jenin – Suzan AbulHawa: Have you ever finished a book and instantly felt an urgent desire to weep wash over you, yet at the same time you’re too chocked up to shed a tear? A horrifyingly amazing chronicle of the life of Amal, with a long vowel, from before she was born, to her birth and childhood in a refugee camp, her journey that took her to Jerusalem to the United States, to Lebanon and finally back to Jenin, all the while documenting the history of the stolen land and people of Palestine. But it’s not a history book, as the story of Amal, the people she loved, the places where she had grown up and all her hopes and fears make it all too personal, like you’ve been there yourself in the kitchen hole as Israeli tanks and warplanes leveled the houses around her and brought her world crumbling down over her head. I can’t overstate how much I loved the language, totally blew me away and sent me wondering how on earth it occurred to her to put a particular idea in those particular words. This book has been on my shelf for over a year, and I was afraid to read it after what I heard about how heart-wrenching it was, but once I started I didn’t want it to end.This is as humanly real as it gets, I think.

حجر دافئ – رضوى عاشور: لا أعرف كيف أصف هذا الكتاب. ساعة أشعر بأنه يسحبني إلى داخله فأعيش بين شخصياته وساعة أخرى لا أفهم ما الذي تريد رضوى أن تقوله بالضبط. لكن ما فهمته بعد قراءة عدة أعمال بنفس النسق لرضوى عاشور هو أن رضوى ترى، فتتخيل، فتحكي. تقدم لك القصة وعليك أنت أن تصنع بها ما تريد. والبطلة في هذا الكتاب بلا منازع هي المرأة، بصبرها وخوفها وحنيتها وقسوتها المكتسبة الضرورية أحيانا، بدفئها وصلابتها هي حجر الأساس والصخرة والبطلة القابعة وراء الكواليس في كثير من المشاهد

The Secret of Chimneys: I read this book because I wanted something fun to read, lamentably though it wasn’t as fun as I hoped. I had a hard time keeping track of the characters and some events seemed too accidental. However there was something that made me go through with it, but it wasn’t easy I can tell you.

التائهون  – أمين معلوف: قراءة هذا الكتاب كانت أشبه بتناول عشاء هادئ في مطعم فرنسي، على مهل، تستمتع بكل لقمة منه ولا تريد أن ينتهي. كأنه مونولوج طويل لأمين معلوف يبرر فيه لنفسه وفي نفس الوقت يعاتب نفسه على الرحيل، من خلال قصة مجموعة من الأصدقاء لم تفرقهم الطوائف وفرقتهم الحرب، يتفقون ويختلفون، وأنت بدورك تتفق معهم وتختلف، وقد تنزعج أو تتأثر، لكنك في جميع الأحوال تظل مشدوداً إلى عالمهم، ماضيهم وحاضرهم ومستقبلهم. التائهون ليس قصة أولئك الأصحاب فقط بل قصة بلد بكامله وأمة بكاملها، بتناقضاتها وصراعاتها وعلاقة الحب والكره بينها وبين العالم الأكبر

The Girl on The Train – Paula Hawkins: At first, the book really gripped me. Little by little I was feeling it was not the greatest thriller out there, but it was interesting enough to keep me interested till the end. The main characters are loveable in a twisted, psychotic way. I couldn’t help but sympathize with Rachel and megan, hated Anna’s guts, wasn’t too shocked with Tom. All in all the characters feel alive and relatable, which is what made this book so successful in my opinion.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

