ليت الوقوف بوادي السير إجباري

Despite having been living in the beautiful, peaceful suburbs of Amman for more than 20 years, it was only until recently that I explored the fascinating, breath-taking depth of Wadi El-Sir. I remember going to that area a lot as a child, since my Grandfather’s house was there. Just passing through Al-Bayader gives me goose bumps for all the memories it brings back. Yet, going deep inside was something else. It’s even hard to believe that those vast areas of green landscape and all these beautiful hills to which I couldn’t see an end in the horizon, not to mention the charming ruin sutes, are just few miles away from the buzz and chaos of the city. I’m actually still marvelling at the fact that they are even in the same city I live in. And I used to think that Amman is too small and there aren’t many new places to discover! Much as I hate to be wrong, well, I was.

I tried to take some pictures but they can’t replace going there and experiencing all this for yourself. We went there almost an hour before sunset, but I’d recommend going earlier to enjoy the sunny views and take longer walks, because it’s a bit scary to talk there in the dark. As my brother joked while we were ascending the mountain to go to one of the ruin sites: لا تخافوا، أي ضبع بطلعلكم هون بكون ضبع جعاري (Don’t worry, any hyena here is a stray hyena)

Don’t worry though, we saw no hyenas, just friendly animals, like the two baby goats that followed us, couldn’t take a good picture of them because I was busy running away from them like a scaredy cat!

6 responses

  1. Pingback: أصوات أردنية حرة: جمال وادي السير، هم ليلة الخميس، و المولات للعائلات فقط! | 7iber Dot Com

  2. Nice photos Ola. What make me sad that most of Wadi Al Seer area if not all was like this some years ago, but now every year we lose green areas for the white ones. Make me wonder when will we do something about that?

  3. I “got lost” in Wadi Al Seer not too long ago. It was fun for me, my kids kinda freaked out when we seemed to be so far away from Amman. Eventually we had to turn around and come back. Take me with you next time!

Leave a comment